• The Switch

    RECOMMENDED: The Switch by Beth O’Leary is $2.99! Catherine read this one and gave it an A:

    It’s a very gentle, wholesome sort of book. I read it last week when I was sick, and it was really the perfect book to curl up with if one is under the weather.

    Eileen is sick of being 79.
    Leena’s tired of life in her twenties.
    Maybe it’s time they swapped places…

    When overachiever Leena Cotton is ordered to take a two-month sabbatical after blowing a big presentation at work, she escapes to her grandmother Eileen’s house for some overdue rest. Eileen is newly single and about to turn eighty. She’d like a second chance at love, but her tiny Yorkshire village doesn’t offer many eligible gentlemen.

    Once Leena learns of Eileen’s romantic predicament, she proposes a solution: a two-month swap. Eileen can live in London and look for love. Meanwhile Leena will look after everything in rural Yorkshire. But with gossiping neighbours and difficult family dynamics to navigate up north, and trendy London flatmates and online dating to contend with in the city, stepping into one another’s shoes proves more difficult than either of them expected.

    Leena learns that a long-distance relationship isn’t as romantic as she hoped it would be, and then there is the annoyingly perfect – and distractingly handsome – school teacher, who keeps showing up to outdo her efforts to impress the local villagers. Back in London, Eileen is a huge hit with her new neighbours, but is her perfect match nearer home than she first thought?

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as
    well. Thanks!

  • The Radium Girls

    The Radium Girls by Kate Moore

    The Radium Girls by Kate Moore is $1.99! This is mainly about the lives of women who worked in radium dial factories during WWI. It can be a heavy read at times, I’m told.

    The incredible true story of the women who fought America’s Undark danger

    The Curies’ newly discovered element of radium makes gleaming headlines across the nation as the fresh face of beauty, and wonder drug of the medical community. From body lotion to tonic water, the popular new element shines bright in the otherwise dark years of the First World War.

    Meanwhile, hundreds of girls toil amidst the glowing dust of the radium-dial factories. The glittering chemical covers their bodies from head to toe; they light up the night like industrious fireflies. With such a coveted job, these “shining girls” are the luckiest alive — until they begin to fall mysteriously ill.

    But the factories that once offered golden opportunities are now ignoring all claims of the gruesome side effects, and the women’s cries of corruption. And as the fatal poison of the radium takes hold, the brave shining girls find themselves embroiled in one of the biggest scandals of America’s early 20th century, and in a groundbreaking battle for workers’ rights that will echo for centuries to come.

    Written with a sparkling voice and breakneck pace, The Radium Girls fully illuminates the inspiring young women exposed to the “wonder” substance of radium, and their awe-inspiring strength in the face of almost impossible circumstances. Their courage and tenacity led to life-changing regulations, research into nuclear bombing, and ultimately saved hundreds of thousands of lives…

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as
    well. Thanks!

  • The Night Raven

    The Night Raven by Sarah Painter

    Meet Lydia Crow…

    Lydia has always known she has no power, especially next to her infamous and more-than-slightly dodgy family. Which is why she carved her own life as a private investigator far away from London.

    When a professional snafu forces her home, the head of the family calls in a favour, and Lydia finds herself investigating the disappearance of her cousin, Maddie.

    Soon, Lydia is neck-deep in problems: her new flatmate is a homicidal ghost, the intriguing, but forbidden, DCI Fleet is acting in a distinctly unprofessional manner, and tensions between the old magical families are rising.

    The Crows used to rule the roost and rumours claim they are still the strongest.

    The Silvers have a facility for lying and they run the finest law firm in London.

    The Pearl family were costermongers and everybody knows that a Pearlie can sell feathers to a bird.

    The Fox family… Well. The less said about the Fox family the better.

    For seventy-five years, a truce between the four families has held strong, but could the disappearance of Maddie Crow be the thing to break it?

    The Night Raven is the first book in Crow Investigations, an exciting new paranormal mystery series from bestselling author of magical fiction, Sarah Painter.

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as
    well. Thanks!

  • The Other Einstein

    The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict

    The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict is $1.99! This historical fiction has a gorgeous cover and deals with one woman’s partnership and marriage to Albert Einstein. While the author does mention her research, some readers expressed some doubt in how much was factual and what was fabricated.

    In the tradition of The Paris Wife and Mrs. Poe, The Other Einstein offers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein’s enormous shadow. This is the story of Einstein’s wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated and may have been inspired by her own profound and very personal insight.

    Mitza Maric has always been a little different from other girls. Most twenty-year-olds are wives by now, not studying physics at an elite Zurich university with only male students trying to outdo her clever calculations. But Mitza is smart enough to know that, for her, math is an easier path than marriage. And then fellow student Albert Einstein takes an interest in her, and the world turns sideways. Theirs becomes a partnership of the mind and of the heart, but there might not be room for more than one genius in a marriage.

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as
    well. Thanks!

Don’t want to miss an ebook sale? Sign up for our newsletter, and you’ll get the week’s available deals each
Friday.

By posting a comment, you consent to have your personally identifiable information collected and used in accordance with our privacy policy.

↑ Back to Top